11 Comments
Nov 28, 2022Liked by WAYNE CHRISTENSEN

A wonderful day of eating and enjoying family. Hubs smoked a 22lb bird, I made my usual butternut squash and sausage stuffing as well as cranberry sauce while my mom made her delicious homemade biscuits and roasted Brussels, my MIL prepared heavenly mashed potatoes and two deserts, a pumpkin one and a pecan cheesecake. We drank a Pinot blanc and a Valdigue from J Lohr. 14 of us in all and even the picky eaters amongst the group and the normally quiet teenagers found something to eat or converse about. I went to bed with a full belly and soul.

Expand full comment
Nov 27, 2022Liked by WAYNE CHRISTENSEN

I didn't go out, I didn't have anyone over and I didn't have anything special to eat, however I had one of the most gratifying Thanksgivings ever...a "vintage" Friend, who I hadn't seen or heard from in 47 years found me right before Thanksgiving...

Wayne Christianson and I lost track of each other after college, circa mid-70's...Wayne made the effort by doing some investigative research and found me living in Minneapolis...

On this Thanksgiving I'm really thankful to have gained a "lost" friend as well as becoming the latest subscriber to Vintage Morels...Haydn

Expand full comment
Nov 26, 2022Liked by WAYNE CHRISTENSEN

We had all of our local family members (daughter, granddaughter, and their spouses) over for a 2pm dinner. Since none of us are turkey fans, we instead did a boneless pork shoulder roast. Last year I did a Puerto Rican version of this roast called pernil. This year I tried an 8 pound porchetta, an Italian version. You sort of butterfly the roast as best you can and then slather on a thick paste of smashed garlic, olive oil, chopped sage and rosemary leaves and fennel fronds. Then you roll it up, cross-hatch the fat cap and apply more of the paste. I cooked it at 450 for a half hour, and then turned it down to 325 and let it go for as long as it took the interior of the roast to get to 180 (about three hours). We also had slow-cooker corn pudding, a Greek potato salad, and roasted yams and carrots, apple pie and ice cream. We had to take a walk before we were ready for dessert. The conversation was lively, so I was able to sneak unnoticed into the TV room once in a while to check on football scores.

Expand full comment
Nov 26, 2022Liked by WAYNE CHRISTENSEN

My son and new daughter-in-law did the cooking and it was a nice break to not be in charge. They went with a non-traditional menu and that was also fine with me. We went to see the light show at the Bronx Botanical Gardens last night. How about you?

Expand full comment
Nov 26, 2022Liked by WAYNE CHRISTENSEN

It was a wonderful day - the first time we've had the whole family together for Thanksgiving since 2019. Great company, delicious food and wine, one new baby, one dog in a holiday sweater, and lots of joy and gratitude! Hope yours was special, too!

Expand full comment
Nov 26, 2022Liked by WAYNE CHRISTENSEN

Yes! It was low-key, a small gathering of close family. Made a brined turkey that was a mashup of a Sam Sifton Bon Appetit recipe and an Alison Roman one. Everyone brought a side dish. No family conflict, just joy in watching the young children run around and make friends with our cats.

Expand full comment